- 102 -

COUNCIL

(Civic Centre, Port Talbot)

Members Present:

28 September, 2017

The Deputy Mayor:	Councillor D.Keogh
Councillors:	A.R.Aubrey, S.Bamsey, D.Cawsey, H.C.Clarke, S.ApDafydd, O.S.Davies, R.Davies, C.Edwards, J.Evans, S.E.Freeguard, C.Galsworthy, W.F.Griffiths, S.Harris, M.Harvey, N.T.Hunt, S.K.Hunt, C.James, H.N.James, C.J.Jones, D.Jones, L.Jones, R.G.Jones, S.Jones, S.A.Knoyle, E.V.Latham, A.Llewelyn, A.R.Lockyer, R.Mizen, J.D.Morgan, S.Paddison, S.M.Penry, D.M.Peters, M.Protheroe, S.Pursey, S.Rahaman, S.Renkes, S.H.Reynolds, A.J.Richards, P.D.Richards, A.J.Taylor, R.L.Taylor, A.L.Thomas, R.Thomas, J.Warman, D.Whitelock, C.Williams, A.Wingrave, R.W.Wood and A.N.Woolcock
Officers in Attendance:	S.Phillips, H.Jenkins, G.Nutt, A.Evans, D.Michael, K.Jones, R.George and A.Manchipp,

1. APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRPERSON FOR THE MEETING

RESOLVED: That the Chairperson be Councillor Sheila Penry.

2. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE CIVIC YEAR 2017/18

On the motion of Councillor Councillor S.Paddison seconded by Councillor E.V.Latham, it was:-

RESOLVED: That Councillor Dennis Keogh be elected Mayor for the remainder of the Civic Year 2017/18 pursuant to Section 23(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Dennis Keogh then subscribed to the Oath of Allegiance administered by the Chief Executive and made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Mayoress would be Mrs Christine Keogh and the Mayor's Chaplain would be Canon Illtyd Protheroe from Carmarthen.

The Chairperson then adjourned the meeting in order for the Mayor to take his seat as Chairperson of Council.

3. <u>APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR THE REMAINDER OF</u> <u>THE CIVIC YEAR 2017/18</u>

On the motion of Councillor Ralph Thomas seconded by Councillor Arwyn Woolcock, it was:-

RESOLVED: that Councillor Scott Jones be appointed the Deputy Mayor for the remainder of the Civic Year 2017/2018 pursuant to Section 24(1) of the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Scott Jones then made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Deputy Mayoress for the remainder of the Civic Year would be Mrs Jemma Jones.

4. <u>APPOINTMENT OF THE MAYOR AND THE DEPUTY MAYOR FOR</u> <u>THE CIVIC YEARS 2018/19, 2019/20, 2020/21 AND 2021/22</u>

Council received the report of the Head of Corporate Strategy and Democratic Services on proposals for the Appointment of the Mayor and the Deputy Mayor for the Civic Years 2018/19, 2019/20, 2020/21 and 2021/22.

RESOLVED: That the proposals contained in the circulated report on the Appointment of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor for the ensuing years from 2018/19 to 2021/22, be approved.

CHAIRPERSON